jump to navigation

Dent de Lion! June 6, 2010

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Love and Death, macro photos.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Ah, the lowly dandelion, bane of the Chem-lawn crowd, delight of de little ones.

“Do you like butter?  …Oh yes, you do like butter!!”

It’s so ubiquitous as to be nearly invisible to the average passer-by, to the extent that I have no photos of its fulsome blossoms from 2010.  And as I chose not to spend all night looking for the photos which I know I do have, I’ll cut right to the chase:  it’s the ghost of the dandelion which most captivates the child in us all, its gossamer globe glowing in whatever light encounters it:

…its stem popping crisply as it’s picked, bleeding sticky whiteness where your pinky meets your palm, and then, held up close to amazed eyes, a new universe unfolds with a complexity and clarity worthy of Edwin Hubble or Carl Sagan, presaging Buckminster Fuller by a million years:

If one needs proof that there is a God, one need look no farther.

And then, with a mighty puff from a child’s tiny lips, this earth-bound constellation explodes in a super-nova of delight, to be scattered on the wind, to begin again its miracle to the wide-eyed delight of some other child.

They’re going to come in waves throughout the summer, Dear Friends.  And when they do, pull over, get a little bit sticky, and send them on their way.

Comments»

1. clairz - June 6, 2010

Constellations! Super-novas! Once again, you are bending time and space with words and pictures.

2. littlebangtheory - June 6, 2010

clairz, thanks for noticing – I had fun with this, particularly with my feeble attempt to shift readers between their present consciousness and their childhood memories, and word-wise, with the internal alliterations.

I hope it worked. 🙂

3. pagan sphinx - June 8, 2010

Oh. I am verklempt. (sp?) An absolutely gorgeous post – every detail, in fact. 🙂

4. clairz - June 8, 2010

Oh, no you don’t–it’s way too hot here for me to be catching any internal alliterations. However, I want to be verklempt, too, just like pagan. How do I do it? Is it a cool activity? Temp is 102 degrees here in Las Cruces and after several days of triple digits I am very ready for some verklemptifiication. Sign me up!

5. littlebangtheory - June 8, 2010

Stay tuned, clairz. The Pagan Sphinx provided us all with some photos of coolnesses past, which I’m about to share. 😉

6. UM - June 23, 2010

Best post in every way! I feel like printing these words/photos and framing them…

…Seriously. Might be a project for the not-so-distant future. Lovvvved this.


Leave a Reply

