jump to navigation

Springing Into Winter. April 16, 2010

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

After last week’s flirtations with the ninety-degree mark, we’re headed for a spell of more seasonally appropriate weather, namely sleet and freezing rain in the high country, and just plain miserable in the valleys.

So before they’re all gone, here are some shots of the woodland flowers who had the audacity of hope before the world was ready for them.

Some tiny blue-eyed grass*:

…as yet unidentified.

Some similarly anonymous little pink things [*Trailing Arbutis – thanks, jomegat, for both of these names!]:

Bloodroot, wrapped in it’s leaf-cloak for the evening:

…and an early wonder, the nearly leafless Coltsfoot:

…improbably thriving in the sandy roadside strips where other plants languish.

This morning on the way to work there was snow up in Florida, with more forecast for the weekend, so this may be the last of the delicate things for a wee bit.

Except, of course, for shots already in the can!  😉

Comments»

1. Bob - April 16, 2010

I think the first are bluets?

And the second… grace the cover of the North Carolina Wildflowers book that my Mom gave me several years ago. Alas, I don’t have that book anymore (it stayed in NC when I came to CR) and don’t remember the name.

Why oh why would you think that North Carolina wildflowers are now a’bloomin in MA? (I’m guessing that since you don’t know what they are that they’ve recently migrated up your way.

Great pics, Cuz.

2. jomegat - April 16, 2010

The first are not bluets (those have four petals). I’m not positive, but I would guess it’s a species of blue-eyed grass (Sisyrinchium spp).

The second is most definitely trailing arbutus (Epigaea repens).

I don’t know the third plant, but your id of bloodroot looks to be spot on. It’s not one I’ve seen in NH, but I’m guessing it must be here and I’ve just missed it.

The fourth one is coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara).

3. Bob - April 16, 2010

Yes!

Blue-eyed grass and trailing arbutus!

Thanks, man, ’cause it was driving me nuts not being able to remember. 🙂

4. Jomegat - April 16, 2010

You’re welcome. It drives me crazy when I can’t think of the name of a plant too.

My hobby is logging when plants are in bloom over at http://en.wikiversity.org/wiki/Bloom_Clock. If that interests you too, it’d be great if you’d visit there every now and then.

5. littlebangtheory - April 16, 2010

Jomegat, this isn’t the blue-eyed grass I’m familiar with, it’s a lot shorter and denser, but I suppose there are variants and assume you’re correct on this one.

The trailing arbutis was a surprise; for some reason I always thought the stuff was a higher-growing plant, but you’re correct in your I.D.

The coltsfoot and and bloodroot I’m sure of, I know them well.

Bob, good to hear from you! I’ve been (once again) a poor reader, and lost touch a bit when you took a little time off. Glad to see you back at it, expect visits going forward!


Leave a Reply

