jump to navigation

Gauguin In Colrain. April 11, 2010

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Yeah, in Colrain, “Birthplace of the Toothbrush.” *

And if that isn’t strange enough for you, The Big G makes his appearance on the side of a 25-foot sailboat marooned on this Berkshire hillside like an Ark deposited by the retreating waters of a Biblical flood:

I blinked hard as I drove past this visual incongruity, then doubled back to see if I had seen what I’d seen.

I’d seen it.

The stern of this poor old girl confirmed its owner’s intentions:

One never knows what one will encounter while cruising the back roads, does one?

* If the toothbrush had been born elsewhere, it would most likely have been called a teethbrush!

Comments»

1. sherry - April 12, 2010

that is just wonderful!

2. Laurie B - April 12, 2010

I love that you love our hilltowns and know them so well. We sometimes just go for a ride just to see what CR found or find things CR hasn’t yet. Those are always nice days.

3. UM - April 13, 2010

One of my favorite posts you’ve ever done! What a treasure you found there. And you’re right, who woulda thunk? πŸ˜‰

4. littlebangtheory - April 13, 2010

Sherry, thanks!

Laurie, I do love them, and am delighted to think others are roaming the same back roads with a similar eye. πŸ™‚

Ursi, so glad you liked this – and yes, the incongruity of it adds to its impact. I’ll bet your end of the State is lousy with sights I’d love to get a lens on.

And, in fact, I intend to!

5. UM - April 15, 2010

May 15th!

littlebangtheory - April 16, 2010

Yup! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

