jump to navigation

Sunset, Moonrise. January 24, 2010

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, Politics and Society.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Half-moons are an odd lot; if they’re waxing, they rise mid-day, like the two idle classes here in America.  If they’re waning, they rise around midnight, like the graveyard-shift working poor and the junkies and the lost souls whose fortunes are likewise waning.

But I digress.

Here’s a shot of Friday’s sunset on tracks in the snow:

…and Saturday’s mid-day moonrise:

Given a good polarizer and cooperative weather, this last week approaching the full moon makes for what are to me the most interesting moon shots.

Enjoy!

Comments»

1. Lisa - January 24, 2010

Superb. Simply superb.

2. littlebangtheory - January 24, 2010

Lisa, Hi! Glad to hear from you, and thanks for the nice words. 😉

3. Paul in ABQ - January 25, 2010

I am totally green with envy. These are shots I wish I could take. But I rejoice that you take them and share them. Just stunning. Thanks!

4. littlebangtheory - January 25, 2010

Yer most welcome, Good Sir!

5. pagan sphinx - January 25, 2010

Oh, that moon. It looks like you could climb the tree and just reach right up and grab it.

Beautiful. Thank you.

6. UM - January 26, 2010

Both are lovely; the second is exquisite. Pagan Sphinx is right – Looks like you could climb right up and pick it out of the sky…What was that storybook from my childhood where the little Monkey wants to climb to the moon for his birthday, and all the other jungle animals help him!?…Sorry for the digression. I am impressed by the photos!

7. littlebangtheory - January 26, 2010

Gina, thanks, I’d hoped for that effect. 🙂

Ursi, I’m sorry, I don’t remember the name – but I’ll bet your Mom would!

Musta spent too much of my life in that 60s/70s interface…

8. susan - January 28, 2010

These are magnificent shots.


Leave a Reply

