jump to navigation

In Reply… December 21, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Politics and Society.
Tags: , ,
trackback

…to an email from “info@barakobama.com,” my reply, sent off this afternoon:

> Ralph —
>
> Early this morning, the Senate made history and health reform cleared its
> most important hurdle yet — garnering the 60 votes needed to move toward
> a final vote in that chamber later this week.
>
> This marks the first time in our nation’s history that comprehensive
> health reform has come to this point. And it appears that the American
> people will soon realize the genuine reform that offers security to those
> who have health insurance and affordable options to those who do not…

>… Thank you,
>
> President Barack Obama

………………….
Dear President Obama,

I voted for you with a great deal of hope in my heart.

But frankly, this “health care reform” is total bullshit.

Thanks to the influences of corporate money and organized religions, your so-called “reform” is nothing more than a give-away to Big Insurance and a take-away from every woman in America.

It breaks my heart to have to say this, but…  I seriously wish you would grow a spine and champion what we Americans who have a REAL CLUE know is best for the people who you are sworn to “protect and defend.”  That is, as you surely are bright enough to know, single payer health care.  With your “bully pulpit” you could explain how single payer will save us fully half of our health care expenses, eliminate 90% of the cost of malpractice lawsuits, and cover EVERY AMERICAN from cradle to grave.

By staying on the sidelines of this debate you’ve ceded the momentum to the corporate whores and Christian fundamentalists who don’t give a crap about Joe Average American, unless of course he ‘s a rich white “Christian.”

You’ve broken the hearts and spirits of so many of us who supported you because we thought you were on our side.  How sad, especially for the young voters who thought they were making a difference, to learn that they weren’t, that they’re expendable, sacrifices on the Altar of Perpetual Corporate Growth, pawns in a game where only the wealthy win.

I wonder if there’s any chance that you can salvage your Presidency, and be known for all time as anything other than a spineless disappointment to those who entrusted you with their futures.

I’m praying you can, but I’m not holding my breath.

Sincerely,

[The Cunning Runt]  (though I used my real name)

Charlemont, MA

…………

I don’t know if he’ll get this, but it felt good to hit that “send” button.

Comments»

1. Lisa - December 22, 2009

I am enjoying this vicariously through you. I hope someone reads it.

2. Frau Biergut - December 22, 2009

Nice to see you are regaining your ability to string words together in a VERY coherent way. Too bad the machine at the other end can only regurgitate.

Tschuss!

3. Bobbie - December 22, 2009

Yes, I am extremely disappointed. I keep telling myself that at least it closes the donut hole, which is my own biggest problem at present. I’m still desperate to see it signed, sealed and delivered, weak and wishy-washy as it is. It’s something.

I’m glad you sent that letter. I’ve sent a few myself, and will be sending more. The man knows what is right, talks a great game, maybe if we ALL push hard enough, he’ll get it? I believe he is capable of it. We can only hope.

4. littlebangtheory - December 22, 2009

Lisa, Frau B, of course it was sent from my good buddy, The Grrrreat Computah!

So I resent it to “http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/.” That’s the actual email account to have your rants read by some high-school intern, who is, at best, keeping score of the “yeas” vs. the “nays.”

Hey, I wasn’t actually expecting it to pop up on the Presidential Blackberry, but at least it gets its own check mark!

5. dianne - December 22, 2009

Bravo!!
you certainly spoke for me
thank you

6. susan - December 25, 2009

I read an article a few days ago that naturally I can’t find right now for proper attribution but one thing that was said in essence was: I couldn’t stand watching or listening to George Bush because I knew he meant what he said. I can’t stand watching or listening to Barack Obama for exactly the opposite reason.

Glad you sent your letter.


Leave a Reply

