jump to navigation

Balloons. December 7, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I guess I better post these photos sooner rather than later, as there’s snow on the ground now and likely more where that came from, so they’ll look a little silly when the rest of my world turns white.

Last weekend, from the top of Mount Sugarloaf in South Deerfield, Massachusetts, looking south toward Amherst and the University of Massachusetts:

It was a good night for flying, and the balloons were out:

I didn’t have the lens I wanted for this, but then, one can’t have everything.

Another shot:

This one really does convey the feeling of floating above the reality of a Western Massachusetts landscape.  I’m kinda fond of this photograph.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Anyway, today it’s turned white; winter’s coming.  I feel it.  I see it.  I’m looking forward to it, consciously, perhaps mostly because of its inevitability.  I find myself to be not inclined to fight the passage of time, but rather to experience it as an external aspect of life which might or not be appreciated, as the observer chooses.

I choose to appreciate winter.  Doing so extends my participation in the world considerably.

Comments»

1. susan - December 8, 2009

I can understand why you’re particularly fond of that last shot. It really is pretty magical.

2. Laurie B - December 11, 2009

Yeah, we witnessed five balloons cascading, four horses (and riders) trotting, three tractors hauling (squash) two farm stand CSA’S switching from Fall to Winter and the local farm stand turning into a tree party.

I always enjoy every way that light comes. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

