jump to navigation

Waking To Snow. December 6, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Went to bed last night with a light snow falling, and woke to a blanket of white.

My housemate Lizz is an early riser, and a dependable pre-dawn go-getter, so of course I had no choice other than to be up at the crack of black with the intention of being “in position” for the impending sunrise.

We chose a spot along the Deerfield river and headed out.  The air was bitter cold, and I was prepared to suffer for my art, as I’ve yet to locate my winter hats and gloves, MIA over the last two months of moving, unmoving and removing.

Don’t ask.  It’s complicated.

At any rate, we arrived at our destination in the thin light of a gibbous waning moon and a sun not quite ready to rise.

A short tromp through ankle-deep snow gained us the river’s edge and front row seats to the birthing of a December day:

The sky was merely adequate to warrant our efforts, but one makes the call early, then gets what one gets:

Not that I’m complaining, mind you, but some days as I’m totally busy driving to work the sky does much more amazing things.  I chock these mornings up as personal gifts, inexplicably not meant to be shared.

Hey, I don’t make the rules, I just deal with them.

At any rate, Lizz and I shot ’till the light came up and the color faded:

By then my fingers were getting a bit club-like, and my camera battery was dying, as I’d been using a power-sucking “live view” camera feature to assist in focusing Elliot, my TS-E II lens.  Lizz was ready to keep going:

…but I was ready to get going, so she graciously acquiessced.

See some of this amazing lady’s amazing work here.  Click the “portfolios” tab at the top and prepare to be amazed.

Thanks, Lizz, for a great morning out!

Comments»

1. Bob - December 6, 2009

Ahhhhhhhh.

Very nice.

2. Frau Biergut - December 6, 2009

The pleasure was all mine, sir

Tschuss!

3. susan - December 8, 2009

It’s not the first time I’ve seen the photographs done by Lizz but I just did the same thing I’ve done the other times and that was to get totally lost in their beauty for a little while. What a remarkable mixture of talent and skill. You have a very good teacher.


Leave a Reply

