jump to navigation

Sunrise, Moonrise. December 1, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: ,
trackback

Some days you’re just too busy to spend time with a camera, and some days the weather sucks, and some days it’s beautiful, spectacular, and you’re just not in the right place at the right time with the right stuff.

And some days, it just kinda happens, without that much effort.

It’s like it’s Fate or something.

Bracketing my day, a couple of completely unprocessed shots, straight from the camera, beginning with a predawn walk above Salmon Falls.  I thought I’d missed my shot, walking toward the dam through the growing gray light, but then the sky lit up just as I arrived:

Guess I didn’t miss it.

That was cool, really.  I try often but so seldom succeed to get to the right place, with the right sky thing happening, and have the right gear with me, while the wildly pernicious New England winds cooperate.  It’s such a rarity that it’s a shock to the system when it happens.

I’m sure that could be tweaked for better viewing, but I wanted to be able to say that I’d posted it straight from the camera, so that’s just what I did.

And then this evening, anticipating the rise of December’s  full moon, I drove around with Gizmo riding shotgun.  He takes a while to get jazzed, so it helps to spend a little while getting him in the mood before he’s expected to perform.

I hit the high country, looking for a horizon rather than a skyline, and waited.

And waited.

The eastern sky was so thick with clouds that I never saw the moon rise, and as the predicted hour of the event passed, I capped my lens and headed back down the hill toward home without my moon shot.

But then, in the lowlands near home, the cloud cover became patchy and the moon peeked through.  Gizmo saw it before I did and made me drive around in some farmer’s field, setting the moon down in the nearest hilltop.  I spent a bit too much time chasing the moon/skyline interface and not enough time getting it right, so most of the shots from this session needed considerable adjustment.

But this one, the very first I took, was viewable without any interventions, so I’m posting it as such:

I know, it’s a bad ratio for viewing on a blog.  But I’m serious about posting these two photos straight out of the camera.  Scroll if you must, but I ain’t croppin’ nothin’.

And so I consider it a good day.  A decent sunrise shot, a decent full moon shot, and a productive day of work in between.

Hey, that’s what I’m here for.

Comments»

1. Bobbie - December 2, 2009

That moon is special!

2. Barb - December 2, 2009

Can’t put any other word to these shots, other than AWESOME!

3. littlebangtheory - December 5, 2009

Kindly said, Ma’am! I’m glad you both liked these!

4. susan - December 8, 2009

The first one is a magnificent shot of a late fall sunrise in New England – the kind I only ever saw when I didn’t have a camera. You found the perfect moment and I thank you for sharing it. The moon is lovely too but I have a penchant for water and color 🙂


Leave a Reply

