jump to navigation

A Photographic Experiment. November 20, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , ,
trackback

My most recent lens purchase was a Canon L-series 24mm TS-E II, a lens which replicates the actions of medium and large format cameras in that it allows for the “tilting” of both the camera back/film plane and the objective lens, the one which gets punched first in a street brawl.

I bought this Rube Goldberg monstrosity while in pursuit of the ultimate landscape photograph.  You know the one – the cactus flower nearly brushing the lens and the castellated horizon, both in sharp focus.  It’s a look which is, practically speaking, unattainable with an SLR or modern digital camera, seeing as it depends on being able to “bend” the lens relative to the camera body, which hasn’t been an option until just about… now.

I bought Elliot (my TS-E lens, if you catch my reference ) looking for that infinite depth of field (tilt) and control of parallax (shift,) and have been struggling with the learning curve ever since.  The focus is manual, and the results of my efforts aren’t really obvious in my tiny viewing screen, until I get home and blow my images up.

Then, last week, my Siamese Cousin Bob sent me a link wherein people did exactly the opposite with their tilt-Shift lenses, opting for what approximates a spot-focus amidst a sea of  impressionistic blurs.  It was cool enough for me to be inspired to try it, so I did.

Here’s Bossie, asking the perennial question, “Whatchoo lookin’ at???”

Obviously, I’m lookin’ at a cow with an attitude.

This isn’t what I bought Elliot for, but I anticipate having some fun with it.

Let me know what you think.

Comments»

1. Bob - November 20, 2009

Very nice! I do look forward to seeing you play around with this, the effect is sooo effin’ cool.

2. byrde - November 21, 2009

I’ve just been running across these types of photos and wondering how they were accomplished. I’m looking forward to your further explorations.

3. Barb - November 23, 2009

Love the effect.

Elliot’s “attitude” really takes the cake… looking forward to seeing what else he will produce!

B:-)

4. distributorcap - November 27, 2009

i think the cow is ready for her close up with elliot


Leave a Reply

