jump to navigation

Ruby Tuesday! November 9, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Ruby Tuesday!.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

This is an Accidental Ruby Tuesday, which came my way most unexpectedly this past weekend.

I’d overslept and missed the best part of sunrise, but I nonetheless left the house early enough to see some long shadows and a bit of color.

But the skies were boring compared to the sunrise I’d invisioned, and I drove without a destination, disconsolate yet propelled by my inate wanderlust.

Then, on the edges of Ashfield (it might have been Goshen by then) I passed a rustic building gleaming with chrome detritus of a most unanticipated sort – the Good Time Stove Company:

Good Time Stoves

…yes, a real store, festooned with an interesting array of shiny stuff displayed to the delight of early morning travelers like me.  I’d passed it hundreds of times without stopping, but on this particular morning the light was right, and I backed up to snap this shot.

There are several bits of Ruby scattered about this photograph, though I doubt you can see the most impressive one to me: the glowing red heart affixed to the chest of the twenty foot Tin Cowboy at the left of the photo.

Trust me, it’s a trip.

So at this resolution you might just be able to see the Glowing Red Whatever at the foot of the fifteen-foot Bicycle Wheel Arch which frames the entrance to the stove shop.  I call Ruby-Dab!

…but then, off to the right, was a sign:  “Three Sisters Sanctuary:”

Three Sisters Sanctuary

Yeah, I know, “That’s pretty scant Ruby.”  Let’s call it “sorta red.”

But I, being curious, wandered out back, the idea of “three sisters” appealing to me in some way or another.

And there I spied Ruby:

Morning Dragon

‘Twas a Morning Dragon, fifty feet at least, basking in the break of day, with two-foot chunks of sea glass guarding its sinuous spine, and a belly where fire  lived, and a hideously beautiful mouth where the smoke came out, gnashing its earthbound fangs at the waning half-moon:

Dragon and Moon

This was a truly cool find, and the low light of morning lit it to my liking.

I hope you like it too.

Thanks to Mary over at Work of the Poet for hosting this cool meme.  Go there to see what else is rubilicious!

 

Comments»

1. Ralph - November 9, 2009

Eclectic rubies are often the best ones. I see smaller rubies, and in a place like this – they may be scattered and we may have to search, but we will find! The tin man needed a heart, but I thought he received a tick-tock clock instead. Happily by now, he found it…

2. Bonnie - November 9, 2009

Holy cow. If you see and capture stuff like that by accident, what do you do on purpose?? B

3. littlebangtheory - November 9, 2009

Fellow Ralph,

Hiya, Guy! Yeah, the Tin Cowboy has a dark add-on heart with an electric ruby glow. It’s cool!

Bonnie, sometimes the “accidents” blow the intentional shots away; this appears to be one such time. 🙂

4. Carletta - November 10, 2009

I was mesmerized by your words and this completely gaudy store 🙂 and then the last shot – way, way cool!!!

5. Marites - November 10, 2009

i find the store quite interesting even if it looks gaudy:) i’d probably browse inside too. The last photo is really beautiful shot! love it. Happy RT!

6. Mark's Tails - November 10, 2009

Spectacular, I particularly love the last shot.

7. dianne - November 10, 2009

first I have to tell you – I love the word ‘festooned’
thanks for using it 🙂

this place is fabulous

8. sherry - November 10, 2009

oh i love it, just love it!!!! thanks for sharing!

9. Nonizamboni - November 10, 2009

This is an amazing road trip! Thanks or taking me along.

10. dhemz - November 10, 2009

came here to visit!

11. Richard M.. Richardson - November 17, 2009

Thank you for the “cunning” comments! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit and found some ruby in the treasure trove of miscellaneous materials, art and installations! I welcome and encourage visitors any time and if you cannot make it to our location on RT112 in Goshen, MA then you should visit the web site: wwwThreeSistersSanctuary.com. I am most appreciative of feedback, suggestions, comments and ideas as well as visitors, friends and family who visit from corners of the globe far and wide! Thank you all!


Leave a Reply

