jump to navigation

My Poor Garden. August 26, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags:
trackback

It hasn’t been a great year for gardening here in Massachusetts.

First the freezes kept coming, delaying planting.  Then we planted, and the rains began.

It rained for two months before we saw the sun again.  The greenery grew head high while the air was washed clean of pollinators and the fruit didn’t set.

I kept thinking, “Shoulda planted rice.”

But still, something happened.  The garden, despite looking like hell, began to produce:

my garden

First came the strawberries, arugula and bok choy.  Then, explosively, two kinds of kale, broccoli, and summer squash:

kale, etc.

…followed by tomatoes, cucumbers, basil, onions, Hungarian wax (hot) peppers and eggplant:

tomatoes, etc.

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but hey.

Late Blight claimed almost all of the tomato crop in Southern New England and tried to take mine as well; but whereas most “real” gardeners pulled and bagged all their plants, I tried an organic spray recipe I heard on NPR, and three weeks later I’m still battling it, but I’m up to my ears in tomatoes!

Every couple of days I get a harvest which looks something like this:

harvest

The mushrooms (chanterelles, hedgehogs and russulas) I picked on the way home from work as part of my “Hundred Yard Diet.”

There are flowers, too – first the columbines, lupines and daisies, now bee balm:

bee balm

…cone flowers:

cone flower

…and, of course, sunflowers:

sunflower

That last was photographed against a back-drop of echinacea and yellow tansy.

Hey, I gotta go.  It’s time to layer in some tomatoes and basil and red onions and fresh mozzarella.

🙂

Comments»

1. Cherie - August 27, 2009

How marvelous! Congratulations on your success. 🙂

2. sherry - August 27, 2009

looks great.


Leave a Reply

