jump to navigation

Back. August 19, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

From New Hampshire’s White Mountains, on a beautiful summer weekend.

Here are a few shots from along the way.

Followed the Ammonoosuc River up valley:

Amanoosuc

…to its source, high up on the western flanks of Mount Washington, the loftiest peak in the Northeast:

MWV Hotel

That’s the Mount Washington Hotel, by the way.  I’ve only admired it from a distance; they say if you have to ask, “How much?” you can’t afford it.

I first became aware of this area at the age of ten, a little young for Boy Scouts, but my Dad was an Assistant Scout Master, so I got to go along for the summer fun.  I remember we swam in the Ammonoosuc River, at a roadside swimming hole which is now miles from the nearest pavement (think “road relocation.”)  It’s prettier without the cars, though it still draws plenty of visitors:

crowded pool

I had to work to get clean “nature” shots without my fellow tourists in them:

Ammonoosuc River

turbulent wall

Not that I minded the work.  🙂

Anyway, I was soon off to Cathedral Ledge, a 500′ monster overlooking North Conway:

cathedral

Again with the tourists – sheesh!

Nearby Whitehorse Ledge is similarly scenic, though without a road to the top, it’s left to climbers and hikers:

whitehorse

I’ve climbed both of these faces more times than I can count (as has my buddy Frau B.,) but this trip was just for looking; perhaps in the future I’ll get back on the rock.

I love this area.  The White Mountains are somewhat of an anomaly for the Northeast, having relatively large areas above treeline and hosting remarkable swaths of sub-alpine eco-niches.

I expect to get back up there as autumn approaches; it should be spectacular if the wet weather continues into September.

Comments»

1. Miz Lu(mena) - August 19, 2009

Noyce! I sense a calendar forming. Glad you’re back. I’ve had a few white knuckle moments on Cathedral myself, but was always held in the excellent hands of Frau B. You bring back pleasant memories with these images. Thanks!

2. Bob - August 19, 2009

Interesting that the White Mountains go above treeline, where the (slightly) taller Blue Ridge and Black Mountains in NC don’t. Mount Mitchell and Grandfather Mountain both sport Canadian Shield biomes, though.

Wonderful photos, Cuz. 🙂

3. Paul in ABQ - August 20, 2009

Wonderful. Glad you’re back. I’m not a climber but I would love to drive around and take photos with you (a nice fantasy). I love how you see the world.

4. knikked - August 22, 2009

What a spectacular place! Glad you’re back to share this beautiful part of the world with all of us.

I think that the calender is a great idea! 🙂

5. sherry - August 22, 2009

oh my! too much.

the cliff one just was amazing. i put it in my pics to save, if you don’t mind?

6. littlebangtheory - August 22, 2009

sherry, I’m pleased, as a matter of fact. 🙂


Leave a Reply

