jump to navigation

A Couple Of Scenics. July 11, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
trackback

Sorry, The Usual Suspects got in front of my lens again.

My morning drive takes me from the foggy river bottom where I live to the ridge-top along the Hoosic Range, where the valley-genic nature of the morning’s pall becomes apparent:

river fog sunrise

This is one of those shots I can’t resist taking whenever I see it, in the hopes that one “take” or another will be a real “keeper.”ย  I mean, they’re all nice, but so far they’re just practice for the morning when everything is gonna gel.

Later in the day the valley clouds lift and I’m thrilled to see the sun after a month of mostly rain.ย  The bright light allows me to snag a few more “practice shots” despite the breeze, which would make lower-light photography a good bit less productive.ย  Here’s a shot of a rigid lance of Verbascum thapsis guarding a queenly Echium vulgare from a diminutive Oenothera biennis:

vipers' bugloss and company

Never underestimate an Evening primrose.

Comments»

1. Randal Graves - July 11, 2009

Love that first one, Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog and all that. Next time, you need to be standing there looking majestically down at the scene. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2. susan - July 11, 2009

You really should be earning your living doing this. I enjoy looking at the photographs taken by others but yours are entirely unique and special. Just please don’t decide to charge too much for those of us who visit. I’m not very flush these days ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. littlebangtheory - July 11, 2009

Randal, I have to look at this view most every day. It’s a curse, I tell ya.

Susan, if I ever get my act together on this stuff, I can’t imagine asking those of you who have brought me to the verge of believing in myself for anything beyond the cost of production, and that’s awfully tight of me.

Hey, if I have bills to pay, I can ask strangers for a bit more. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But that’s really jumping the gun; I have to climb a few more rungs up the ladder of learning before I’m gonna feel ready to sell images.

Thanks to all of you who say nice things along the way, I really couldn’t do this without you.


Leave a Reply

