jump to navigation

At Last… July 7, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: ,
trackback

…another full moon!

Yeah, I know, it happens every month.  But between cloudy skies (a recent regular feature in these here parts) and not being in the right place at the right time, it’s been slim pickin’s for this last bit.

Anyway, last night I waited for the nearly-full moon to rise at the just-about perfect spot, only to see it appear faintly through the hundred or so miles of thin clouds extending eastward from my vantage point to the horizon.  I won’t repeat what I said in that moment of weakness, having spent the last half-hour scanning the skyline for the expected glory.

I canned the shots I took as I muttered obscenities at the Weather Gods – they (the photos) were pretty lame.

But as it so often happens, the best photos appear in one’s peripheral vision as one drives home, The Unit resignedly packed away.  And last night, because I’m a resolute Slacker/Procrastinator, when my side-view mirror suddenly erupted in Luminous Orbage, I still had Gizmo set up in my passenger seat (the preferred preemptive position for wildlife sightings) and banged a hard right into the nearest farm field, snaking the tractor road past where the telephone wires ruined the effect, and snapped this:

july full moon

The sun’s last lingering light had left the landscape, contributing only the faintest blush to a thin band of clouds which, with a tiny bit of patience on my part, intersected The Orb just so.

I was struck by the royal blueness of the sky, and pleased to see that my camera captured a bit of it.

I’m grateful for these accidents of fate; left to my own devices, nothing like this would ever come my way.

Comments»

1. Barb - July 8, 2009

Fantastic!!!

B:-)

2. Bob - July 8, 2009

Perfect!

3. Paul in ABQ - July 8, 2009

I am in total envy.

4. littlebangtheory - July 8, 2009

Aw, shucks, folks – it’s mostly luck (though being ready for the unexpected moment helps!)

🙂

5. sherry - July 9, 2009

loveloveLOVE it!


Leave a Reply

