jump to navigation

Honey Moles* June 12, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Here are this week’s honey moles.

Feathered:

hawk

That’s the biggest hawk I’ve seen in a long time!

Furred:

doe and fawn

A momma and baby.  They were so sweet together, grazing and nuzzling and keeping a sharp eye on me.

…and scaled:

garter snake

This little guy was camped out under my wheel barrow down by the garden.

…and that is all.  🙂

* Actually, almost all.  “Honey moles” was my dear Portuguese father-in-law’s approximation of “animals,” and has become my generic term for an assortment of critters.  It’s one of the ways I keep Fernando in my heart.

Comments»

1. Paul in ABQ - June 12, 2009

What an endearing term. Thanks for sharing that memory of him.
Nice shots too. I especially like the snake. Gorgeous!

2. Mauigirl - June 13, 2009

Honey moles! I love it.

Great pix. (Is that snake poisonous??)

3. littlebangtheory - June 13, 2009

Paul, Fernando was a formative personality in my life, strong yet gentle, unabashedly communist and, like my own father, possessed of a bone-deep love of his woman and very much at peace with that, seeming to need nothing more. Both he and my father stand as paragons of my potential as a man, and I’ll forever thank them for that.

Mauigirl, good to hear from you. No, our local “garter snakes” are non-poisonous, and though able to bite through the skin are not inclined to do so; they’re regularly manhandled by fifth grade boys, much to the horror of the girls who have them wagged suggestively in their faces, without incident. It may be illustrative to note that I, a confirmed pussy, consider them “cute.” 😉


Leave a Reply

