jump to navigation

Randomness, Flower Type. June 8, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature.
trackback

I’ve been searching for the name of this flower for two years, and finally found it!

Ladies and Gentlemen…  Echium vulgare!

Viper's Bugloss

That’s Viper’s Bugloss to you, Ma’am!  Ain’t that a purty name?

Here’s a roadside stand of garlic mustard, I think*:

yellow roadside

*There I go being lazy again.

A wild strawberry:

wild strawberry

That one I know.  No longer a flower, but still pretty.

Illustrating the difference between “pretty” and “elegant,” northern pitcher plants arch their alien buds skyward from a fen in Rowe:

pitcher buds

…while along the Deerfield, a ubiquitous cinquefoil nestles in the lap of a cow vetch blossom:

cow vetch

That’s such a cool color combination that I can’t resist photographing it wherever I find it.

Comments»

1. Bobbie - June 8, 2009

I’m the one being lazy – or just pressed for time. I have been looking at your fantastically beautiful pictures, but not commenting. Thank you for all of them. wish I knew the names of so many wildflowers – And oh! that moon shot!

2. sherry - June 8, 2009

so so lovely. thanks.

3. Paul in ABQ - June 8, 2009

Wonderful shots. I love the Viper’s bugloss: the flowers and the name.


Leave a Reply

