jump to navigation

Ruby Tuesday – Columbines! May 5, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in macro photos, Ruby Tuesday!.
Tags: , ,
trackback

While the storied Rocky Mountain Columbine is the Colorado State Flower, I maintain that it has nothing over our local Eastern Red Columbine, Aquilegia canadensis:

red columbine

…captured here growing with Early Saxifrage, Saxifraga virginiensis.

The columbine blossom is described as a “horned trumpet:”

columbine close-up

…and is, in my humble opinion, worth standing on the very top of a sixteen foot extension ladder set up on the roof of my car and leaned against a crumbling, dripping road-cut to get the close-up.

Of course, that’s just my humble opinion.

You’re welcome!

πŸ˜‰

Thanks to Mary over at Work of the Poet for this lovely ruby meme!

Comments»

1. Bobbie - May 5, 2009

One of my all time favorites. And for some reason, I never seem to have them in my garden. Maybe I’ll do something about that this summer.

2. Pagan Sphinx - May 5, 2009

I’ve tried to grow columbine that I’ve bought at a nursery two summers ago but it never took. It was very pretty but this wild stuff is stunning. I wonder if you would have luck transplanting it.

3. littlebangtheory - May 5, 2009

PS, I don’t know – I usually see it on wet cliffs set into deep woods. These are on a west-facing road cut with full sun and lots of running water. I’m not sure how far they like to stray from those conditions, or if they’d take to conditions in your (or my) yard.

Bobbie, I’ve seen seeds on line, but morre commonly for the Colorado type.

I’ve got more of these, I’ll post them soon.

4. Lisa - May 6, 2009

Gorgeous! I love columbines and their complex lines.

5. Bob - May 6, 2009

re: transplanting… If I remember correctly what my mom — who was a whiz at moving wildflowers to where she wanted them — told me, they need the right type of soil more so than anything. And she moved some columbine into a relatively shaded, well drained spot on the north side of our house. YMMV

(BTW, mom’s still a whiz, she just doesn’t have a garden anymore πŸ™‚ )

6. Bob - May 6, 2009

Oh, and Cuz… As usual, wonderful pics, but I wonder….

Are all the purty things in your area at the top of a dangerously unstable ladder? πŸ˜‰

7. moosh - May 6, 2009

Columbines grew once for me but didn’t come back. Too hot and dry here. HRT a day late.

8. Tengrain - May 6, 2009

CR –

That is a stunning flower – oh, to have a lute of fire to sing its praises!

I have a yellow columbine in my backyard, a CA native. The thing is robust as hell and the only one I have successfully grown. My mother grew columbines like no one’s business. They just responded to her.

Regards,

Tengrain

9. littlebangtheory - May 6, 2009

Thank you everyone, and a special thanks to Bob for the tips!

Yeah, Bob, they’re mostly near the tops of cliffs. Or maybe that’s just where I’m lookin’ most of the time… πŸ˜‰

Moosh, welcome. It’s always nice to have first-time visitoes (or at least first-time commenters!)

10. susan - May 9, 2009

You know I time my visits here so I can just plain linger over the images you capture. Good Lord – a 16 foot ladder balanced on the roof of your car. Is there nothing you won’t do to get that perfect shot? I, for one, am very grateful.

Tonight we watched ‘Never Cry Wolf’ for the first time in years. It was a great book by Farley Mowatt but the film is something else. I thought of you when he was crawling over the tundra to get closeup shots of wildflowers.


Leave a Reply

