jump to navigation

Fiddleheads. May 1, 2009

Posted by littlebangtheory in Art and Nature, macro photos.
trackback

All ferns begin their sunlit  journeys as fiddleheads.  Here are some tiny ones stretching sun-ward on a foggy Spring morning:

fern

These had the best skins going.  I dug ’em.

And these:

redferns

These tiny fiddles were so precisely drawn, they deserved some attention, and I gave it to them.  A long while of maneuvering captured that shot, and it felt like visual msic.

If you know what I mean.

These little sprouts were really green, and carried themselves at such a jaunty rake that they deserved documentation:

jaunty damned ferns

Oh yeah, like that!

These, on the other hand, were a bit alien:

ferns from planet x

I find ferns interesting for their sensual geometry, the poetry of their forms, and because of their ethereal nature, their growth toward dissolution.

Gotta appreciate them when they’re in season.

Comments»

1. Bob - May 1, 2009

So, basically, you spent the whole day fiddlin’ around? 😉

Wonderful close shots, CR.

2. Suzer - May 1, 2009

Fiddleheads….yum! Used to be you could find them in the supermarkets up North this time of year. I don’t know if you still can. We used to pick them when I was young, sautee them in butter and eat them up. It was a once or twice a year treat, and so delicious! Never fear — we always tried to leave plenty to continue to grow, and we selfishly never told anyone our secret spots for finding them. We didn’t want others to overpick and ruin our yearly treat!

3. littlebangtheory - May 2, 2009

‘Tis true, Suzer, they’re wicked seasonal. I usually get a few meals out of a season, but this year I thought I’d pick a sack and put ’em up to extend their run. They’re available right now at the Hippymarket, but not in the commercial chains, but I have the time and inclination to get my own, so I know they’re organic and fresh.

Bob, thanks, I loved taking these, and felt that they’d be interesting as I was taking them. That’s not always the case with my photographs, so I’m pleased when it happens!

4. Bobbie - May 2, 2009

I’ve never eaten one. In fact, I’ve never even seen one so close up. Thanks for that experience, CR. They are beautiful things.

5. sherry - May 2, 2009

that is too too cool! thanks!

6. Steve - May 2, 2009

These are beautiful – especially the top two. The skins on the top photo made me stare for quite a while. I’ve never seen any like that! And the composition and focus in the second – that visual echo/mirror image out of focus on the right… Great shot.

7. littlebangtheory - May 2, 2009

Bobbie, none of these are “eaters.” The ones I eat are ostrich ferns, very distinctive when one knows what they’re looking for. I’ll try to post a close-up which shows the definitive features in the near future.

Steve, thanks, that second shot took quite a while to compose. I was looking for that G-clef effect, and as I approached the composition I wanted I saw that unfocused mirror image and had to have it as well.

Fortunately I picked up a right-angle view finder last week, so I didn’t have to dig a hole for my head to get the shot! 😆


Leave a Reply

