jump to navigation

It’s MY VOTE, Damn It! February 5, 2008

Posted by littlebangtheory in Politics and Society.
Tags:
trackback

During a spirited discussion last night among the visitors at Blue Gal’s Monday Night Salon, I finally made up my mind, again, to vote for sanity today, to vote for integrity today, to vote for responsibility today, TO VOTE IN MY BEST INTEREST TODAY.

Today, in the hills of Western Massachusetts, I’m going to the polls to cast my Primary vote for Dennis Kucinich.

Because he and I opposed this fucking war from Day One.

Because he and I want corporate money OUT of our fucking electoral system.

Because he and I want all Americans to have HEALTH CARE, not just to be forced to buy health insurance from giant for-profit corporations.

I actually sat down and cried at one point yesterday. And as I sat there with my head in my hands, it became clear to me that I was mourning the death of my Country, the death of my Democracy, the premature burial of my children’s futures.

I WILL NOT CAST MY VOTE FOR A CANDIDATE WHO IS PREORDAINED BY THE CORPORATE MEDIA.

I want change, but not just a change in skin color or genitalia. I want a change of allegiance. I want a President who puts the people of America first. I want a President who respects the rule of law. I want a President who honors International Treaties.

And today, I’m going to vote for that man. He won’t take Massachusetts, but the next time I look at my kids, I’ll be standing straight and tall (well, you know what I mean,) knowing that I tried.

I know, I’ll get Obama, or maybe Clinton. And then, in the General Election, I’ll vote for them over the Republican’t choice of War Monger. (BTW, that was a typo, but I left it in despite my aversion to name calling; it was just too cosmic. )

So people, if you’re still “undecided” or just luke-warm about the choice being made for you, look at your ballot. Your first choice is still there.

DO IT, PEOPLE.

YOU KNOW YOU WANT TO.

This may well be your last chance to vote for the person who represents you.

Don’t throw that away.

Comments»

1. Randal Graves - February 5, 2008

That’s exactly what I’m doing on March 4. Then in November, the Democratic nominee gets my vote.

Ready for a statement so profound and myth-shattering, that the very fabric of space-time shall be ripped to shreds and all known existence will get violently pulled into a nightmarish alternate universe?

Our system sucks.

2. littlebangtheory - February 5, 2008

And ain’t THAT a rat’s ass!

3. sherry - February 5, 2008

by the time i vote in pa. it won’t matter! : (

4. Freida Bee - February 5, 2008

I think I would likely do the same, yeah, I would, but Kucinich is not going to be on the ballot in TX because of some bs oath he didn’t take (ie. some lie he refused to tell.) I love that guy!

5. Comrade Kevin - February 5, 2008

He is not on our ballot either, so I had no choice but to vote my conscience, and as I said over at my place, my conscience says “OBAMA!”

6. boxer rebel - February 5, 2008

It wouldn’t matter when i vote either in NC, but this has convinced me to vote for my candidate Edwards. Yeah I was with you on Kucinich and I still like him, but his thing with wanting Ron Paul as his VP scared me too much and I had to get off of that train. But congratulations on voting your conscience.

7. littlebangtheory - February 5, 2008

I hear ya, BR. But frankly, Ron Paul notwithstanding, I’m voting for Kucinich’s platform. Health Care, the Rule of Law, and Impeact the Bastards. And get us OUT of Iraq.

Edwards needs to be somebody’s VP and get busy on the corporate crud.

8. DCup - February 6, 2008

I clenched my teeth a little and voted for Hillary. I explain why on my blog. Try not to fall out of your chair from my crude approach.

Will you still be my friend?

9. littlebangtheory - February 6, 2008

Yup. 🙂

10. fairlane - February 7, 2008

CR- You know, I hate to say it, but it’s our fault.

Before the process even began, many democrats were saying, “I really like Kucinich, but there’s no way he can win.”

Of course he can’t win, if people decide beforehand he has no chance.

The media, the parties, the powers that be, select the candidates for us, and we let them.

Obama, and Clinton are not “Democrats.” When I was a young lad, people like them were called “Republicans.”

Pepsi and/or Coke is not Democracy. It’s a choice between Crap or Crap.

11. David Rice - February 7, 2008

CR, hope you’re feeling better. Will you please email? Thanks!

After switching from IE to Firefox the computer wouldn’t let me in the Salon. Not the only problem the computer has had of late. It is scheduled for repair on ST.

David


Leave a Reply

